

Press release

Pierre Le Coz re-elected as Chairman of ANSES's Committee for Ethical Standards and Prevention of Conflicts of Interest

ANSES's Committee for Ethical Standards and Prevention of Conflicts of Interest, which was renewed in April 2016, assumed its functions on 22 June. Pierre Le Coz, associate professor in philosophy, doctor in life sciences and health, and Director of the Department of Human Sciences of the Marseilles Faculty of Medicine, was re-elected as Chairman.

Since 2011, ANSES has been able to turn to an independent body, the Committee for Ethical Standards and Prevention of Conflicts of Interest, for strong support in ensuring a high level of independence and transparency for its expertise work.

This Committee has now been renewed and its eight members appointed for a five-year term by an order dated 11 April 2016. Four new members have joined the Committee, and four have had their mandates renewed. During the first meeting of the renewed Committee, on 22 June, Pierre Le Coz was unanimously re-elected as Chairman.

ANSES's Committee for Ethical Standards and Prevention of Conflicts of Interest can be asked to examine any particular situation in the framework of the Agency's scientific work, on any ethical issue. It can access any information from the Agency necessary for the exercise of its powers. If deemed necessary, it may conduct hearings. It formulates opinions and recommendations for the petitioning organisation as well as for ANSES's Board of Administrators and Director General.

Since 2011, ANSES's Ethics Committee has issued 13 opinions, on subjects as varied as the duty to alert of the Agency's scientists, the composition of the expert committees, or the Agency's research project selection processes. Its view has also been sought on questions of organisation in order to ensure ANSES's independence in the framework of the extension of its competence, or the ethical framework for exploitation of the scientific literature.

These opinions, which are systematically made public, are accessible on <u>The Agency's website</u>.

The eight members of the Committee for Ethical Standards and the Prevention of Conflicts of Interest

Mr Jacques Arnould, Ethics Advisor at CNES, the French Space Agency

Ms Marie-Caroline BEER, Internal Audit Director at CNRS, the National Centre for Scientific Research

Dr Anne-Carole BENSADON, Member of the General Inspectorate of Social Affairs

Dr Patrick CHOUTET, Professor at the Tours Faculty of Medicine

Ms Marie-Angèle HERMITTE, Legal Expert, Honorary Senior Researcher at CNRS, Honorary Director of Studies at the School for Advanced Studies in Social Sciences

Mr. Pierre LE COZ, University Professor in Philosophy, Director of the Department of Human Sciences of the Marseilles Faculty of Medicine

Ms Anne-Marie MOULIN, Medical Doctor, Associate Professor in Philosophy, Emeritus Senior Researcher at CNRS

Ms Claire SABBAGH, Honorary Director of Collective Scientific Expert Appraisal at the National Institute for Agricultural Research, INRA